Resources to help improve English writing (outside the classroom)?

My Thai wife is pretty fluent in spoken English, and has become even better since we've been together. But, her English writing skills are much weaker than her speaking, and she has a full-time job that is increasingly requiring her to write communications (emails and such) to farang co-workers in English.

I'm not a teacher, but I am a good writer, and my wife doesn't really have time to enroll in some classroom program.

So, the question is, can anyone recommend any (hopefully not-boring/stuffy) English writing learning materials/resources appropriate for adult learners that we can use at home together to help her gradually improve her English writing skills?

Thank you!

Edited by TallGuyJohninBKK

The best thing she can do is to read. Read novels, read books, read news articles, magazines anything. You can't really write unless you read. It helps to build vocabulary and it helps to use words in the correct context.

It is best if she reads stuff which interests her -- lots of different magazines that cater to females.

Scott, I do understand and appreciate what you're saying about the connection between reading and writing. Unfortunately, she doesn't seem particularly oriented to reading, either in Thai language or English.

Even so, her issue is not really English vocabulary, in terms of not knowing the English words. She's not bad at that, particularly in terms of her work oriented vocabulary.

Her issue is not knowing how to correctly write the words she knows into a proper sentence. For example, tenses of verbs, singular vs plural, not adding articles before nouns, etc etc.

I'm thinking there ought to be some kind of workbook aimed at English writing that would help with those kinds of things. I'd surely be surprised if there isn't such a thing.

Bump....