Vision Exam Saga...Parts II & III.

bangmai

For my second attempt to get an up to date eyeglass prescription, I went to the highly touted, and often TVF recommended optician close to UN Cafe. They refused to do a basic eye exam, when I told them I would be ordering online, but was willing to pay a fair price for an exam. Maybe that is something they started for high season. Not a customer in the store; four employees.

For my third attempt, I went into an optician located to the back of KSK. I asked how much for an eye exam. I thought she said "three," but actually she was saying "free." I stated that I may not be buying glasses at this time, and it was still "free." Got on the machine. Gives numbers like 1.75....the ones I have been wearing fine for 4 years are 1.0......then he does more of a manual check, and determines that I am actually a .5, which means my eyes have improved, which does happen. He wads up the computer printout like a piece of garbage. I explained to him that my hat size is 7 5/8, therefore my glasses are on the large side, including a 19 mm nose bridge, and 135 mm temples. The largest they have for nose bridge is 18 mm, in the entire store. He didn't even attempt to sell me a pair of glasses. After reading a few other reports on botched prescriptions, I am thinking these machines are way out of calibration, so be warned. I'll be sticking with my four year old prescription, from the US, for now.

Just buy the glasses from the guy with the shop on Ratchadameon near Moonmuang. I can't remember the name now but the owner is absolutely the best and his equipment is state of the art. The best glasses prescription I've ever had is from him. Not a chance his equipment is out of calibration - he's a stickler. Price are reasonable and frames are genuine. They may have knock-offs too if you ask for them - I don't know.