Sadao Border Crossing

Back and forth for what reason ?

If you are seeking a visa exempt entry you may have a problem depending on what your passport already contains.

Reports in the past have suggested the problem comes with the lack of something in your passport (i.e. a banknote). I have no personal recent experience.

I just did a run to Penang for a visa. At the airport in Hat Yai, I ran into someone else who did the same, but he crossed at Sadao, and I crossed at Pedang Besar. We both had new Thai Tourist-Visas from Penang in our passports. He was asked to show 20,000 Baht in cash at Sadao and had to taxi back into Malaysia and pull cash from two cards to obtain the requisite sum to show. I was not asked to show anything but my passport with visa at Pedang Besar.

I would think they would accept travelers checks, a much safer alternative for that much, which is what I carry (10,000 denominated in Thai Baht and the rest in USD) to meet this possible demand, but I have not been asked to "show money," so have not tested this.

• Like 1

I just did a run to Penang for a visa. At the airport in Hat Yai, I ran into someone else who did the same, but he crossed at Sadao, and I crossed at Pedang Besar. We both had new Thai Tourist-Visas from Penang in our passports. He was asked to show 20,000 Baht in cash at Sadao and had to taxi back into Malaysia and pull cash from two cards to obtain the requisite sum to show. I was not asked to show anything but my passport with visa at Pedang Besar.

I would think they would accept travelers checks, a much safer alternative for that much, which is what I carry (10,000 denominated in Thai Baht and the rest in USD) to meet this possible demand, but I have not been asked to "show money," so have not tested this.

------------------------------------------

I have done 60 day tourist visas from Penang before.