Need Sugarcane Cuttings For Ethanol

EnergyCrops

Hi everyone,

I don't actually have a farm in Thailand but don't hold that against me. I do live and work in Bangkok. I just can't afford the outrageous land prices over here so my farm is in Cambodia.

My primary interest is in growing energy crops. I have several thousand oil palms growing, but I will have to wait about 5 years before they are profitable. In the mean time, I need to do something else.

I would like to grow sugarcane. The locals have told me there are several types of sugarcane, and only 1 of them is the variety that people use to make ethanol, which is my primary interest. They also tell me this particular variety is not available in Cambodia.

I have been unable to find any useful information on the web, so I am appealing to all of you in the hope that someone will take pity on me and help me out. Honestly, I have no idea what I'm doing. I'm a telecom engineer, not a farmer. However, recent global events have made me realize that farming is alot more useful than pounding on a keyboard in the long run.

My questions regarding oi are:

#1) Can someone tell me what is the best variety of sugarcane to grow for ethanol production?

#2) If I wanted to purchase cuttings for about 2 hectares (12.5 rai) as a test, where could I find someone willing to sell this to me?

#3) Approximately how much space (volume in m3) would cuttings for 2 hectares take up?

#4) What is a reasonable price to pay for the cuttings?

The ideal situation would be to find someone on the way between Bangkok and Chantaburi or Aranyaprathet where I could stop and pick up these clippings over a period of several weeks during normal trips to the farm.

Very happy to have found this forum, and I hope one day I will have enough experience that I can contribute.

Here are your choices:

U Thong 1

- High yielding (120 t/ha)

- Good tillering- Good ratooning

- Smut resistance

- Moderate drought tolerance

- Harvesting age 11-13 months