Mae Sot Visa Border Run

I currently have a Non-Immigrant O visa issued in London and with enter before Oct 2017 October stamped in it. I entered in October 2016 and the first 90 days is up 15 January 2017. I am planning a trip to Mae Sot/Myaddway in early January (we are in Lampang) to renew. As this is my first time I would be grateful for some advice please. As we are planning to leave and re-enter the same day do I need a visa for Myawaddy and would the same day exit and re-entry be sufficient for the Thai Immigration to get the next 90 days? Answers and any useful advice/Info etc would be much appreciated.  

Thank you.       

• 2 weeks later...
On 12/19/2016 at 2:37 PM, Singhaman said:

Thanks ubonjoe. Also does anyone have any advice on car parking near the border please?

I always go on my motorbike, but used to go by car, easy to get parked, plenty of spaces around the Friendship Bridge. Also very safe.

Before they opened the crossing at Kanchanaburi I used Mai Sot regularly.

Parking is easy. I always followed the road on the left of the checkpoint down to the river where it u-turns under the bridge. Plenty of parking there and the bonus of a nice little market to have a quick wander around if you desire.

Exit and walk across the bridge. Only takes 5 minutes but advise wearing a hat, sun gets very hot.

Burmese Immigration charge 500 bht or $10 for their stamps, no Burmese Visa required if just a quick turnaround or looking around Myawaddy.

Not sure if it's changed but on the Burmese side farang were processed in the small office on the right as you cross. Nice to be able to sit down as opposed to waiting outside.

Back on the Thai side there used to be separate windows for locals and farang so check before you cross which window you need to use as sometimes there can be a very long queue of Burmese you do not need to join the end of.

One of my favourite crossings as Officers on both sides seemed reasonably friendly when I was a visitor.