Teaching Jobs/Foreign Minimum Wage

CWA14

Hello all. I have a question about working in education in Thailand.

I have been working for a private school/Thai teaching agency for nearly one year. I work as a curriculum editor and writer (and my original contract says as much). Recently, I saw a "Foreign Minimum Wages" post on Facebook stating minimum wages for various nationalities working in Thailand (which is considerably higher than what I'm making now). I understand the foreign minimum wage requirements do not apply to normal teachers. However, does this exemption for teachers also apply to other educational jobs/positions (curriculum developers/editors, principals, librarians etc.)?

In the event that I would be subject to the minimum wage requirements, how feasible would it be to file a complaint with the labor board and get back-pay from my employer? I also recently found out my work permit says I am a teacher which I find odd/unusual. I am under the assumption that Thai labor law would trump any illegal provisions in my contract. 

Would it be advisable to discuss this with company management beforehand? Or just head straight to the labor office and complain (if indeed the foreign minimum wages requirements do apply to me/my job)? I understand Thais do not like confrontation and figure that maybe heading straight to the labor board would be more advisable in this situation. 

Any and all constructive advise is greatly appreciated!  

So.... just to confirm the details:

You're working as a teacher in a school.

But don't have a degree/teacher's license, so can't legally teach.

So to help you get a work permit, your school exploited a grey area of the system by employing you as a curriculum editor

Now, you're thinking about trying to force the school to pay you a higher salary, because you're technically not employed as a teacher.

5 minutes ago, SlyAnimal said:

So.... just to confirm the details:

You're working as a teacher in a school.