Anki

mikeinkamala

Hi, I have been using Anki for a few months and had about 250 hundred thai words plus translations. I used it about 3 weeks ago and noticed quite a few words in all the 12 decks I was useing were missing, I used it again yesterday and nearly all the words in all the decks were missing, disapeared, gone.

Can anybody here explain to me why this could of happened and also most important, is there any way I can restore these words.

Are you sure that you are clicking the "Add" button when you add a word to your deck?  In the ten years that I have been using Anki I have never lost any items, although I have occasionally failed to save a new entry.

Anki keeps local backups of the decks which you can access by clicking "File", "Switch Profile", "Open Backup."  You could check some of the previous backups for missing items.

In what way gone? They don't appear when you click study, or you can't see them in the browser? Maybe you buried some cards accidentally or changed your review settings (or maybe you updated the app and the default review settings changed).

Hi,

Thanks for the two previous posts gents.

The good news is I have found all the missing words in the "browse" section but the bad news is I don't know how to get them back to their original decks.

Will be grateful if anyone can tell me how to do it.

Mike

1 hour ago, mikeinkamala said:

Hi,

Thanks for the two previous posts gents.

The good news is I have found all the missing words in the "browse" section but the bad news is I don't know how to get them back to their original decks.

Will be grateful if anyone can tell me how to do it.

Mike

If you select them in the browser you can use CTRL + D to change the deck - or if you've accidentally moved them to a filtered deck, I think you can do it just by deleting that deck. Might be worth posting a screenshot.

4 hours ago, cmarshall said:

I repeat my question: why are you using 12 decks?