How to move from Win 10 to Linux Mint and a Win 10 VM?

topt

Have dual booted old Win 7 plus Linux Mint before on a couple of older laptops. For reasons not important now have an Asus Win 10 AMD laptop with 16GB Ram and 500GB SSD but integral graphics. The laptop originally came with Win 10 Home and I added a Pro key. 

Sometime in the near future I will probably want to move to Linux but will want to use Excel and probably Word 2007 and still haven't found a suitable replacement for Windows media Player......the layout/library specifically. Before I used Wine for Excel which was ok. No I don't want to use Libre Office......

So my question is what is the easiest, or most sensible way to move - I have zero experience with VMs..... 

Should I go dual boot and then delete Windows and add the VM or is there a better way?

Best way is to go to this link https://www.opensuse.org/

Add OPENSUSE

Choose Dual Boot.

Or, backup all your data.

Then, format your entire SSD using one of the Linux file types of your choice, and set up partitions according to your needs.

Install OPENSUSE Leap.

Then, if you have a good enough CPU, and since you have enough RAM,  add Virtual Box, and install any copy of Windows 7, 10, or whatever, on your VirtualBox.

Then, use Win Office in the Virtual Box.

OPENSUSE is very user friendly.

Choose YaST as GUI

Edited by GammaGlobulin

11 hours ago, ozimoron said:

Question is why not libre office?

Normal reasons and not relevant.

VLC is a good substitute for win media player

I use on Android and windows but not for its library functions so I do not see it as a good substitute

I would not use dual boot but use a VM instead. Virtual box. Easy to create

That is what I will probably do but I am looking at the best/easiest way to get there........

Any specific practicalities that are not obvious as I have not tried to use a VM before.

11 hours ago, GammaGlobulin said:

OPENSUSE is very user friendly.