Taking On Uk Clients As A Us Freelancer

i am an american IT freelancer who lives in thailand, with several stateside clients who pay me via direct deposit in US$ to my account in NY.

now i have an opportunity to take on a client who is in the UK and who wants to pay me in euros via paypal. how can i do this legally? my friend suggested setting up a company in the UK, but a google search has gotten me no closer to figuring out what is entailed in that for a US citizen. can anyone give any advice?

If you're earning income in the UK the Inland Revenue will want a slice of the pie.

you'd have to be resident there though. Performing work in thailand, then you'll be Taxed on it if you repatriate that money to Thailand.

No problems in the UK with you being paid by a UK company in any way or currency.

No UK tax due on it if you're not living there.

No additional tax due in Thailand if you don't bring it into Thailand in the year that it's earned -

just the normal monthly witholding tax paid through your Thai company.

Do you have to charge them Thai VAT though?

david

If you're earning income in the UK the Inland Revenue will want a slice of the pie.

you'd have to be resident there though. Performing work in thailand, then you'll be Taxed on it if you repatriate that money to Thailand.

I suspect that HMRC might want to argue about that. Many expats who are no longer resident (for tax purposes) in the UK still have to pay income tax on any income generated in the UK. It's not where you live, it's where the income is generated as far as the UK taxman is concerned.

I suspect that HMRC might want to argue about that. Many expats who are no longer resident (for tax purposes) in the UK still have to pay income tax on any income generated in the UK. It's not where you live, it's where the income is generated as far as the UK taxman is concerned.