Problem Students

Murf

Let me just say before i start, i have been teaching here for almost 2 years now, so i have a bit of expirience...

I have a few classes i dont like teaching, the lower end of the Mattayom scale 2/8 2/9 2/10 and also 5/7

The students in these classes i know do not want to learn English.

However much effort i put into the lessons, there is minimal feedback if any.

Of late, i have taken to writing on the black board and making them copy, gap fill... etc. Then going around and trying to get individual feedback with my red pen. I find this tiresome, and so do the students i think...

So... can you offer any advice on troublesome classes, the 'don't want to learn' types.

There is a big issue with discipline in these classes, i tried to nip it in the bud and be very strict, but that didnt work either, I have a Thai assistant who teaches the students at a seperate time to me, and he has no controll over them, so what chance do i have?

Any advice welcome :o

Any advice welcome :o

teach subjects which they find interesting, thai songs, pop stars e.g. and translate scripts, names ... into english : )

Try to get them to learn songs in English?

Something simple, not too 'pop' orientated. I find that they like to sing and many Thais have natural good vocal cords.

I've been teaching for 5 years in Thailand, and started out teaching kids at your level, but in a vocational college (starts at age 15). I had a couple classes that are carbon copies of your situation. I tried several things:

1) I taught to the few (sometimes only 1 or 2) who really wanted to learn, and let the others do what they wanted as long as they didn't disrupt those who wanted to learn. Fortunately, the non-motivated learners were respectful of my wishes and didn't give us any trouble. I didn't go easy on the grading, either--giving everyone what they earned. This was a last-resort method when it seemed all other approaches failed.