What To Do With Teenage Girls?

Harry Palmer

i've been teaching at a small school for the past two months and am having immense trouble with one class in particular, wonder if anyone's had a similar experience & can offer some advice?

it's a small class with four girls (15-16 year olds) who don't enjoy coming... other than talking to each at the start of the lesson, they have little interest in me, and apparantly zero interest in learning english. typically they arrive late, are extremely slow to settle, spending most of their time yelling at each other across the room and doing their best to avoid eye contact with me. when asked a question they take the usual route by saying absolutely nothing or occassionally answering in their native language. one of the girls however is so introverted she NEVER makes any eye contact and i have NEVER (no exaggeration) heard her voice, she does not even speak to the other girls...

i've definitely started to take a cynical approach to them myself and see little point in planning fun and varied classes since no matter what i have them doing it's usually heads on the desk complaining about something...

if they won't make any effort i find it hard to justify investing time in their learning when other students are enthusiastic and involved...

I used to teach here when I first arrived in Thailand and had the same problems. I quit after two years, due to being unable to throw a cheater out of my class and the fact that I spent more on gasoline than I made. But, I did meet many nice people and now have contacts throughout government and everywhere I go within my province.

I suggest the following:

Give points for speaking in Thai. Do not allow it once they enter the classroom. So many points and they have to bring a food dish to the next class or something along those lines.

Build up the introvert, she will certainly be an ally later.

Find the natural leader and use her to gain the control of the class.