Recommendation For Internet Service Please

lotus eater

I will move to Chiang Mai next month. Perhaps a resident has local-user-recent information which can recommend or warn against a particular service. I will be living fairly centrally - nr wat umong - and would be ok with a service with actual speeds above 1mg.

Without prior advice I would simply walk into a TT&T office and ask for the service. But isn't there a True service in CM, supposedly very fast....Sorry but I'm not an expert in the terminology or any aspect of this.

Yes, sir....it just seems like quality/coverage is so spotty that it is impossible to say, "XYZ has the best service in Thailand".

Ask locally for sure...I notice the OP did mention Chiang Mai.

Regardless of the service, a backup plan is always good...for my case, I have TT&T ADSL, then GPRS/EDGE as a second option.

TOT Hi-speed Internet PostPaid

256/128 500 baht

512/256 700 baht

1,024/512 1,000 baht

Is the contract for 1 yr or longer? As i stay in CM for a few months' each time, what options do i have for Broadband Internet as i find dial-up rather slow?

Any advice is appreciated! Cheers!

I live off soi Wat Umong, True cable is not available here (or at least not to my apartment building).

Which left me with 2 other options, TT&T or TOT. There were no free TT&T lines in my area, so i had to go with TOT.

I started with normal TOT 2mb (the residential one, goldcyber) for 1090b/month. That was fine at first, but got slower and slower, and packet loss was becoming more of a problem. So i upgraded to 1mb business grade (totgoldbiz, 1500b/m) and the packet loss improved greatly, but u still dont get anywhere near 1mb for itnernational links.

Usually in the mornings its fine, but gradually slowes down around lunch time.