Building A Better Teacher

jazzbo

As a principal in the States for 7 years before retirement (and as an AP for many years before that), one of the things that I learned was that, in general, teachers hate learning about learning.

A few preliminary comments. First, I was a teacher for 13 years, and while I hated poor inservices or poor college courses, show me a good inservice or college course and I was very open to learning. Second, the school at which I was a principal/AP was one of the top middle schools in the state of Virginia. What our school suffered from (as well as in many ways benefited from) was being a gifted center in a mostly affluent neighborhood. For students who were gifted (fairly broad definition) or affluent, we were number 1 or 2 out of 22 middle schools in our system, and usually in the top 10 in the state...in terms of test scores, etc. Our smaller groups of students -- Blacks, Latinos, special education -- oops...we often scored below the county average and state average.

And before I go on, let me be clear, I knew principals and assistant principals who were pretty dense about things, and if it were a different topic, I'd be happy to outline just how poor administrators can be. So this is NOT a condemn the teachers thread.

"I taught it, they just didn't learn it."

Math teacher: "I don't care if they don't have the basics when they get to our school. I still start teaching Algebra where I've always started. It's their problem."

Math teacher: "The high failure rate is because they're not good students. We just don't have students like we used to." (My response..."But you've been saying the same thing for the past 7 years").