Paying Lao Visa At Border In Usd

Hi guys,

If I pay for my Laos visa at the friendship bridge border crossing with a 100 dollar bill, will they be able to give me change back in USD? (100-35=65). Or do you have to pay exactly 35 USD?

Edited by Jimbo

You should be able to get the $65 back in change altho I've never tried a C-note before, but a $50 works fine.

Just to be cautions, and I'm not making allegations here I hope, but I'd note the serial number of the bill before you hand it over for the $35 visa on arrival. ....

Mac

I went to my local bank yesterday and they only have 100 USD bills, nothing smaller. I will get one but I just want to be sure that I will be able to get change back in USD. I can just imagine them trying to give the 65 USD back in Lao currency or even Thai Baht and against some really lousy exchange rate.

I went to my local bank yesterday and they only have 100 USD bills, nothing smaller. I will get one but I just want to be sure that I will be able to get change back in USD. I can just imagine them trying to give the 65 USD back in Lao currency or even Thai Baht and against some really lousy exchange rate.

Should not be a problem as almost everyone pays in US Dollars and they should have more than sufficient change for you. Agree with Mac about noting the number although I have not heard about scams going on.

Should not be a problem as almost everyone pays in US Dollars and they should have more than sufficient change for you. Agree with Mac about noting the number although I have not heard about scams going on.

Me, either, re scams there at the border, never had a problem with a $50 and been across lots of times.

FYI, if you're driving, there's good secure parking near the "bus-van" station on the Thai side, caged. I've left my car there for as long as 10 days and never had a problem. Baht 100 per day charge but max I've been hit with is baht 700, I think it was.

Mac

• 2 weeks later...