Samsung Galaxy Tab In Thailand And Cambodia. (Uk)

soblue2001

any advice appreciated as I'm a TOTAL novice at these things.

I plan to buy the Samsung Galaxy Tablet in the UK and use it primarily as a GPS for finding my way around BKK and CNX, and also for a holiday in Cambodia.

I'm buying a wi-fi and 3g one.

My question is will it work as a GPS without any sim card - ie no cost to me, and am I able to surf the net without a sim.

Apologies if it's a daft question!!

I can tell you for sure you are able to surf the net without a sim because you have wifi capability.

Of course you will need a hotspot to tap the wifi with though. But yes no sim needed for that.

As for the GPS I am not sure I turned mine on ( in the USA) it asked to connect to my wifi to update maps

I agreed & it lit right up with exact location....again no sim but I did connect to wifi to update maps.

Since then I have tried GPS with the wifi off & it seems to just be searching always. although I have not played with it much.

Again in all cases no sim as I have never owned or installed a sim yet.

With the PD I will try again as I have only tried while indoors

Theoretically it should work IMO because my Garmin Edge I use for cycling has

no sim nor wifi/internet yet it is accurate always.

EDIT: After trying it further it does seem to need a data connection for directions etc.

But again that can be thru WIFI as I do not have a sim in place.

Edited by flying

Have you considered just getting a dedicated GPS system? IME, for navigation, these tend to work better than Android devices.

Can you tell us which Samsung Galaxy Tablet model you are considering buying?

Typically you would have off-line maps, these are maps you download to your device, say for an entire country or region, and then you do not need a data connection.

The GPS system communicates directly with satellites independent of any data connection.