Legal Advice - Severance Pay And Bonus

Roachiebkk

Hi

I've been working for a company here for two years and notified them a while ago that I would be resigning end of March to allow them enough time to find a replacement. The GM actually begged me to stay until after the July peak but i told him sorry. So last week he comes into my office and says he politely wants me to leave before that time so they could start afresh with a new person in the new year. I told him the timing wasn't to my suiting. He simply said that my contract would not be renewed after 1st Feb. I then presented my contract which actually states that there is no expiration date so i will carry on until the date I proposed.

Two days later a resignation letter and a cheque for three months salary are pushed across my desk and they want me to leave next week. I took the cheque and signed the letter but than enquired about my annual bonus. My department ran like a dream this year and there is the precedence of previous years bonuses. They have now bluntly said that the three months severance is all you are entitled to and no reason to pay your 2012 bonus.

So long story aside, does anyone know of a lawyer that can look into this for me and have a full grasp of this situation?

Appreciate any advice, if not I'll just leave with my reputation intact, which is more than what this company will.

Well, as you signed a resignation letter, and furthermore sent a resignation notice, you are normally entitled to no severance pay. 3 months is the severance pay after one year service, but you have not told us what the notice period was. If a notice period is foreseen in your contract, then the duration of that notice should be paid in lieu.

http://bic.thaiembassy.sg/node/121