Warning - always carry your passport or at least a copy.

keestha

Yesterday afternoon I walked down Phuket Road in Phuket Town, towards my car which I had parked close to the immigration office. A car stopped next to me, and the driver rolled down the window and called me. Assuming he wanted to offer a service like a taxi ride, I dismissed him politely. But then he pulled out a badge, stating he was an immigration officer. He asked for my passport, and I told him I had a copy in my car, parked near by. Subsequently I offered him to show my drivers licence, and he seemed slightly surprised when I told him it was a Thai DL. Then he asked me where I stayed, and i told him I stay in Khao Lak/Phangnga, and also what I do for a living there, after which he told me I could go on my way.

In this case it might have helped that I speak Thai semi fluently, could also have worked the other way around. The guy didn't even try to speak English with me.

Living in Thailand since 1992, a lot of traveling, and only the second time I was asked for an ID somewhere on the street.

Anyway for those living in Phuket I think for the time being it is wise always to carry at least a copy of your passport+visa. An earlier thread here already made me decide always to keep a copy in the car, because I have to go to Phuket frequently.

• Like 2

• Replies 81
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I HAVE A 5 YEAR thai driving license which is sufficient

ABOUT TIME THE COPS WERE ABOUT,DOING THEIR JOBS,AND SHOWING TO THE PUBLIC THEY ARE LOOKING FOR PEOPLE WITHOUT CURRENT VISAS.

Edited by Tywais
Changed to standard font
  • Like 1

ABOUT TIME THE COPS WERE ABOUT,DOING THEIR JOBS,AND SHOWING TO THE PUBLIC THEY ARE LOOKING FOR PEOPLE WITHOUT CURRENT VISAS.

Are you sure a 5 year DL is sufficient? After all it contains no entry information, and no visa information as well.

• Like 1