Teaching certification needed for international schools?

timtscott

I understand that for top tier international schools a home country teacher's license/certificate and experience are often required. However, I have also heard it mentioned, that there are lower tier schools which might not always require licensure and experience from one's home country. Is this true? If so does anyone know which schools these are? I am primarily looking in BKK and CM? But I am open to other areas

I have a Juris Doctorate, master degrees in social work, public administration and human resources. My work experience has mostly been in career counseling and managing a large career center. I also have extensive experience in developing and teaching workshops. I have served as an adjunct professor to a couple of universities here in the United States. I also serve as a volunteer ESL teacher for a local non profit.

I guess I have a few questions

1) would I be able to land a position in a second tier international school with my current quals?

2) if so, would I be able to teach something other than English?

3) if so, what type of salary would I be looking at?

4) do most international universities in Thailand assist students with career development and student placement? If so, would there be employment opportunities in carer development for a non Thai speaker?

Your feedback will be much appreciated!

Thanks

Tim

Sent from my iPad using Thaivisa Connect Thailand

Edited by timtscott

In a nutshell.. Probably, no.

Chiang Mai has no "first-tier" international schools. And even the non-religious second-teir schools that pay barely above subsistence need to hire certified teachers in order to keep their accreditation.

Same in Bangkok. Schools that are accredited only hire certified teachers.

As a certified teacher and administrator who has interviewed and hired teachers in Thailand, my advice is to stick with language schools.