Salt water, I wonder if?

jackinbkk

Every time I visit Thailand for the freshwater fishing I always wonder about spending time going for something big in the salt water. I'm wondering if I headed over to Chon buri and soaked a bait over night if there is the slightest chance of it getting hit by a black tip or even a bull shark, maybe even a ray? My time spent in Phuket would tell me that the chances are very very VERY, low, but I've never tried for a shark in Thai waters. Now that I have some experience catching sharks from the beach in Florida and I know my gear is capable of landing 7ft bulls, I'm thinking about giving it a go. I wonder how low the fish numbers actually are. Maybe I should just head for the Bang pakong for freshwater rays.

vlcsnap_2013_04_30_16h14m35s231.jpg

Thoughts?

Is it even safe to fish the sea at night or am I likely to be mugged. smile.png No seriously! Chon Buri is maybe not as bad as Phuket,

One of my coworkers has pictures of some real nice 5-10kg mackerel caught offshore Pattaya.

He says a few buddies go out occasionally and do pretty well when they do.

Under our platforms out of Songkhla, we get quite a few nice barracuda and see an occasional 3-4' cobia that would bbq very nicely. Other than the very rare (and protected) whale shark, we see very few other sharks of any size under the platforms. (No fishing allowed within 500 meters of the platforms, so they become a haven for fish)

Still, I'd be reluctant to risk the dollars and the prized day off for an offshore trip, given the size and quantity of the fish I can catch at BSR and Pilot 111 with 99% certainty. No salt corrosion, no sunburn, and back home in 30-45 minutes.

• 3 weeks later...
  • 2 weeks later...

A few years back I saw a guy catch 2 small sharks in Jomtien. He was by some rocks right outside the beach gate to the water park. I would think that the south end of jomtien would be a better bet.