Fan Repair Shop

phuketsub

My workhorse Hatari floor fan is acting up after three years of intensive use.

Symptom: an annoying vibrating sound that makes it impossible for me to work (I am a writer) when it is on.

There doesn't seem to be anything wrong with the motor, so I hate just throwing it away and buying a new one (always my wife's advice).

Questions:

1. Has anyone had similar problems and how did you deal with them?

2. What is the most reliable fan brand available here? (I still have some old Japanese-made wall mount fans that are over 20 years old and they work fine)

3. Is there a good, reasonably-priced shop somewhere in Phuket Town that specializes in fan repair that can be recommended?

4. Are there any other possible uses for the motor? If it still works I hate to throw it away...

Thanks for any help

If its vibrating then either the fan blades are not balanced, try cleaning them or use a bit of tape to balance (like a car wheel with weightgs) of the shaft of the motor is on its way out. These are, virtually, impossible to fix I would have thought. I would assume they are sealed & would not be worth the hassel for someone to take apart & repair, what is essentially a cheap electirc motor.

I would look on one of the 2nd hand pages for a spare, then Frankenstain them together

I of course could well be proved wrong......

As Eezer said, cleaning the blades is first thing to check. While you are doing that, check that the screw is fully tightened.

Sometimes the often plastic connector part at the behind of the blade looses it's form, which allows the blade to move compared to the metal bar (shaft pin?) coming from the motor. Quick fix for this is to put something flat and heatproof between the blade and the metal bar and then tighten the screw well.

In case it's the fan blade problem, Amorn sells new blades for few hundred baht, take the old one with you as there are many different models and sizes.