Thai Teachers Licence and Culture Course

I have been teaching at an international school in Bangkok since October 2013 but have not yet been on the Thai Culture Course. The school organise my work permit and visa renewal, and this is coming up next month. I am getting worried that the fact that I haven't done the culture course is going to be an obstacle to renewing my paperwork. Can anyone advise please?

You don't need it. It's only required for tct waiver. Private schools no worries.

The culture course is mandatory for the teacher license and for the next provisional teaching permit. The TCT requirements apply to any school, government, private or international, that are basic education schools according to the National Education Act AD 1999 or BE 2542.

My understanding is that you will need one for an international school, but seeing as you more than likely have an educational credential they'll give you a waiver again. Culture courses are up and running again so see if your employer can send you to one sometime during your next contract.

Hello,

I've been teaching at a private school on my 1st waiver now.

I'm actually thinking of moving to another school next year,

when I'll still have 1 year left on my 1st waiver.

Will it be possible for me to cancel my 1st waiver and get the

2nd waiver from TCT when I've landed a new job with a new

school next year? Will there be any other requirements for my

2nd waiver? Will I have to do the Thai Culture Course for it?

Thank you.

I certainly don't envy anyone having to do that course. It was the worst educational experience of my life, totally soul destroying. The lecturers didn't know their subject and they taught ethics as if they were a Thai creation. Couldn't fault the food though

Stop bashing, please. My first ( and that one isn't worth the paper it's written on ) Thai Culture Awareness Course was paid by an agency.