Ruled out Thailand

timtscott

I have been coming here (Thailand) for almost 30 years with the intent to retire here. I have spent hours on same days daydreaming of this move. But now that the time has actually arrived I have decided to look elsewhere. It's not just one thing. Its many things mostly small things. Thailand have changed over the years and so have I. For example, chasing 25 year old women is no longer a top priority for me. I don't like being subject to being stopped by police just because I am a farang. If I wanted to live in a xenophobic state I would remain in the US. But mostly, I have just tired of it. To me the land of smiles is really the land of fake smiles. Maybe it always had been but I refused to see it. It's a beautiful country and exciting for a young man first exploring the world. I may still visit sometime, but I'm not sure. The 27 hour flight is getting harder and harder. Also, Many other places to see, I will retire somewhere warm and cheap likely in South America. I will miss Thailand or the Thailand I had put on a pedestal. I guess it's a good thing I reached this decision before actually moving.

Sent from my iPad using Thaivisa Connect Thailand

• Replies 129
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

south america has worse problems then your going to get here, unless your isolating on an exclusive beach or high end type living arrangement.

for me at least is there probably never will be a "retire thailand" situation. there are just too many other affordable places within easy reach.
it's always going to be a semi-permanent situation, and i have found that the relationships i have experienced here so far fit in with this scenario quite well. thailand, just something about it, transitory, backpackerish, and fleeting relationships with people screwing around with just whomever or bailing when finances get tight.