Added noise problems from Wat Hoy Plakang

boomerangutang

For years, the same few songs have been broadcast loud from the wat on the hill in the village of Hoy Plakang.  It's the wat with the giant white female buddha statue, nw of downtown, about 5 Km.   The same songs are still being broadcast, but now there's added noise pollution:

Starting about 2 months ago, they got some new ideas for added noise pollution:

They're now broadcasting a tape-loop asking for money donations.  The loop lasts 18 seconds (200 times per hour).  They blast it every afternoon, full blast in front of their 9-story shrine, until 6 pm.  The four 12" speakers are facing my house.  Though I'm a Km away, I can hear it (I guess I have sensitive hearing.  Plus, I'm a musician, so am more tuned into sound than the average Somchai).   

I would rather hear birds chirping or wind through the trees, or just plain silence, but..... not possible.  I will move away, but it's a bit of a process.  If someone bought my property, it would facilitate the process of me leaving.

There's also a 3-note, 8 second tape loop of a chant.  Sometimes both tape loops are playing at the same time!  I went up there to try and speak to the old man who sits next to the speakers, taking money.  We had to shout loudly at each other, because the noise was so loud.  No surprise, he didn't attempt to turn down the 200 watt hi-fi (which was cranked to 10) or to turn the bank of speakers to face another direction, other than toward my house.   I've spoken with cops, village headman, other villagers.   All roll their eyes and grin, as if to say, "ha ha ha, there's nothing anyone can do about it, chuckle, this is Thailand."