Any thoughts on New House developments around Chiang Mai

Tracyb

I've just sold my condo in Bangkok and want to move to Chiang Mai.  I'm beginning to research new housing developments in and around CM and would welcome any constructive, knowledgeable thoughts folks may have about any of the new developments there.  I've been looking on-line  at Malada in Mae Rim among others.  I'll be hot footing it up to CM tomorrow to spend a couple of days looking around in person.

What should I be on the lookout for in terms of building quality, potential problems with developers, etc.  Should I just go to the resale market and forget about new developments???  

I have some experience in homeownership in the U.S. and I'm aware that real estate in LOS is a relatively unregulated free for all...so I'm keeping my eyes open and looking over my shoulder at every turn.  If you have positive experiences and/or negative experiences that I can learn from, I would appreciate hearing from you.

Thanks in advance.

Don't know if it will work for you but we bought a lot in Nature's Home in Hang Dong. It is a large land area with nice mountain views. Not a lot of homes yet, the land was a rice field 30 years ago and was filled for a development then the Thai economy went bad. Eight years ago they started selling lots again. You can build what you want with the developers permission or go with one of their plans. The development works for us as it is close to our son's school. If you need to commute into the heart of Chiang Mai daily the rush hour traffic can be rough. With planning we miss most of the traffic.