new rules for teaching on Non-B Visa (extension)?

Just a heads up for people teaching on a Non-B Visa (extension).

A little background first, to answer any inevitable questions that will be asked.

I am 54 years old. I am a registered teacher in the UK (full teaching qualification in the UK). I have 19 years of experience teaching English as a foreign language. I have been in Thailand on a Non-B Visa, extended for 8 years now. I work full-time at a non-Government English school.

Today, I went to do my extension for next year. The rules have changed, but I haven’t read anywhere about the changes. Now, teachers in non-Government schools are ONLY given 6 months extension. After 6 months, we have to apply again (at an additional 1,900 Baht)…. So, a non-B extension is now, in effect, 3,800 Baht for 1 year! This is at Hua Hin Immigration.

Another teacher that I know (not the same school) has just messaged me to say that they have been given the same extension, so it is not only me.

* edit: changed "visa" to "extension" because some clever bugger will make the point that I am not on a visa, but an extension of my original visa!

Edited by tokyoblond
  • Like 1

Haven't heard about this 'new' rule for teachers who are going to Hua Hin or Phetchaburi Immigration. Are you sure it's not related to the temporary teaching permit (aka provisional teaching permit aka waiver) from the Teachers' Council of Thailand? Those Immigration Offices are known for not giving extensions of stay based on employment as a teachers, exceeding the expiration date of the teaching permit.

Hi aidenai.... no, this has nothing to do with a temporary teaching permit.