Filing Us Taxes Electronically

Its my first time to file with the IRS as an expat and already a hitch.

I loaded up TurboTax and was doing the efile form for getting an extension until October 15, and up comes this message: You cannot efile if using a FOREIGN address.

For real? I could use a US address but I want to make it clear to the IRS that I don't live in the US anymore, and what better way than listing a foreign address?

Am I missing something here? Is this the IRS rule of turbotax rule, though it sounds like it is the IRS rule.

So, I know there are some tax gurus here. Is there a way to efile using a foreign address? If not, doesn't using a US address tie you to the STATE of your US address?

EDIT:

OK, I have new info from the IRS. Clearly, a foreign address is OK, so whats up with TurboTax?

Does My Return Have To Be On Paper?

IRS e-file (electronic filing) is the fastest, easiest, and most convenient way to file your income tax return electronically. It's so easy, millions of people use it.

IRS e-file offers accurate, safe, and fast alternatives to filing on paper. IRS computers quickly and automatically check for errors or other missing information. Even returns with a foreign address can be e-filed!

http://www.irs.gov/publications/p54/ch01.html#d0e1060

Edited by Jingthing

This appears to be a TurboTax issue. It does not support e-filing of any kind of extensions when using a foreign address, either the standard one of the 4 month one after the automatic expat extension.

OK, now this is getting silly. I started to do the actual return and I got the exact same message:

You cannot file your tax return electronically if you have a foreign address.

Whats up? The IRS clearly says you can do this, and isn't TurboTax the biggest online filing software?

Edited by Jingthing