Health Insurance - AXA or LUMA or AIA or Cigna Global

dugrasu

Hi wise friends on ThaiVisa forum,

I've been working Bangkok for 3 years.  I've been using Cigna Global silver plan (China -> Thailand) for 5 years but it seems like many of the international hospitals don't accept direct billing with them so the few times I went to Bumgrungrad, I had to pay out of pocket. 

My partner (41) and I (36) are shopping for new health insurance in Thailand. After doing some research, it seems like many insurance policies have quite low coverage/high premium for outpatient, so I'm mostly looking for health insurance with good inpatient coverage (critical illness, cancer (full coverage as my family has history of various cancers), accidents (outpatient/inpatient), global emergencies), direct billing with international hospitals and competitive premium (25-40k THB/year).  So far I have narrowed it down to these 4 companies but leaning towards the first two.   (I will also share with you all, what I learned from my research so others can also benefit from this post)

AXA  (SmarCare Optimum Classic/Deluxe) 2.5-5M annual limit, emergency out-patient 50-70k cover, outpatient cancer 300-500k, emergency oversea limit 1.5-2.5M, accident dental up to 25-50k, premium 33-44k/year

LUMA (Asia Care Plus / Asia Care First)  (very responsive and easy to understand plans, 32M annual limit, cancer treatment (both inpatient and outpatient), emergency dental, premium 35-55k/year for plan 1, zone C), relatively young company as I couldn't find many company info nor reviews.   

AIA  (too many options and add-ons to life insurance, quite confusing, relatively low coverage 500k-2M but reputable company and fixed premium)  My understanding is that AIA focuses more on life insurance than health insurance