Divorcing in Thailand after being married overseas and separated for 2 years

bbi1

Is it possible to get a divorce in Thailand when someone was previously married overseas when they were living in that country many years ago, being married to a person of that overseas country? The marriage wasn't registered in Thailand so in Thailand they are apparently considered single. Say that person in that country doesn't want to do the divorce, how can a Thai person in Thailand do it from here when they have been separated for 2 years?

I'm no lawyer, but I would first of all say that for many countries two years is not enough. 3-5 in many countries.

It really is down to the laws of the country you got married in (you don't say which country).

Also whether your ex-partner still resides in that country.

If neither of you live in the country you got married in, it's very difficult.

Be aware that although you consider yourself single in Thailand, the existing marriage will still be recognized for many purposes.

One thing for sure, Thai judicial processes have no jurisdiction on this matter.

Why not contact the embassy of the 'other' country you are talking about and ask them where you can find specific information about this situation.

Am in this position also. However, when I made enquiries a foreigner can only be granted a divorce in Thailand if they were married in Thailand, regardless of where the ex lives. So unfortunately you'll have to apply for your divorce in the country you were married in.  I know that for aussies you only need to be separated for 1 year and that although you are living here in Thailand you can apply for your divorce online. You don't actually need to return to Oz. perhaps there are similar setups in other farang countries too.

2 hours ago, scorecard said:

One thing for sure, Thai judicial processes have no jurisdiction on this matter.

That's the bottom line right there - and your answer.  

20 hours ago, bbi1 said: