Discussion On Sugar

sugarman

Hi,

I am a research analyst in the sugar industry. I am happy to find this forum and glad to see it so active. It would be a good idea to start a discussion thread on sugar so I welcome all friends within the sugar industry to participate here. Questions on everything about sugar are welcomed and we can all chip in to make this thread a lively one. Cheers.

Hi all, thanks for replying.

bubbaba, I am based in Singapore. I work for a trading company and my area of responsibility is primarily around the Asian region. I must admit I just started 3 months ago but definitely I have learned quite a bit on the sugar industry in Thailand in that time.

chownah and RandomChances, my job as an analyst is to monitor sugar trade flows. We speak to sugar groups who are involved in production and export. Not really involved in farming but I know that it is definitely important to learn from the growers too.

I hear news that crushing of sugar cane might stop completely end of this month and also that sugar mills might continue to crush cane after Songkran festival. Any kind soul be able to tell me anything on this?

I may not be involved in farming but I am more involved in the world market trade and prices. Any questions you may have on the world market or this region in general you are welcomed to ask. If I am not able to answer, some other person in this forum might! This is the aim of this thread after all. Thanks.

I posted sometime back that an enterprising young man could do well here. Sugar cane is still cut by hand and transported long distances to the crushing mill. It is about 100 kilometers from here to the mill at Chum Pae. There is so much cane that is diverted to manufacturing ethanol that the price of sugar has gone up but the price of cut cane has gone down ??? Government ???