Marriage Extension

Could I ask a question, does anyone know if it is possible to do the 1-year marriage visa extension after first obtaining a 60 day extension.

I am trying to decide which to apply for as 7/31 comes closer, I have never done the 1-year thing before. Seems like a lot of paperwork and financial things to get together in a short time. Wondering if it's an option to just do the 60-day extension for now and see how things go with the virus, etc., and maybe tackle the 1-year thing later.

Thanks for any tips/experience

• Like 1

19 hours ago, otissp said:

Could I ask a question, does anyone know if it is possible to do the 1-year marriage visa extension after first obtaining a 60 day extension.

I am trying to decide which to apply for as 7/31 comes closer, I have never done the 1-year thing before. Seems like a lot of paperwork and financial things to get together in a short time. Wondering if it's an option to just do the 60-day extension for now and see how things go with the virus, etc., and maybe tackle the 1-year thing later.

Shouldn't be a problem. I did my 1 year extension about 90 days ago after a 60 day extension.

• Like 1

19 hours ago, otissp said:

Yes, I did exactly that in June. Had to because I didn't have the money in the bank for long enough, so got a 60 day extension to my Non O SE and later applied for the extension based on marriage. Then have to wait one month for approval. I will know on Tuesday if successful.

You're right about the paperwork though, took me 3 visits to immigration before they were satisfied everything was correct, so don't wait until the last minute to start the process.

Edited by Tmoney
additional info
  • Like 1

14 minutes ago, BritManToo said:

Nobody has ever been unsuccessful.

If they accept your application, it's just a matter of paper pushing.