Keeping social security after employment ended

Is there an official regulation in regard to keeping your social security health insurance active after your employment ends?

I asked at Koh Samui and the person there won’t do it unless I’m a permanent resident or at least registered at the tessabaan. Is that correct?

For the tessabaan registration what is required?

thanks. 

Edited by Gulfsailor

When did your employment end?  Hopefully you are still in the 6 motnh grace period.They continue it free of charge for 6 months.

I went through the same hassles with 5 different offices in the Bangkok area when I tried to continue my self pay. No one i know from my school continued it on their own. They had left it up to their wives to get it converted. I'm sure when they were told the same <deleted> and they just gave up.Two offices would not even let me in the door stating not for foreigners. Others told me it was too early to apply, I had to wait until the end of the 6 month grace period which would have meant I lost my right to it. The helpline was basically useless-told a Thai friend (lawyer) that each office makes their own rules. One office told me when I said a friend recently got it processed two weeks ago at their office with her partner translating that they needed her name to close her account as it was illegal! I told them I just knew her nickname. I knew i was entitled to it so I did not give up. I went to the office 4 days in a row. Finally they consented to talk to my friend the lawyer. They told him a bunch of <deleted> making up regulations. He spent considerable amount of time online searching the Thai documents and phone calls to the help line to come up with what would solve the problem to allow me to get it.