The 250 baht Thai Massage........

Iamfalang

I've gotten thousands of massages, so I have some experience.   Maybe three years ago I realized that at 250 (tip 50 or 100 baht), almost everything can go wrong and, well, this is Thailand and no sense complaining.   350 isn't even $10 USD and some lady is touching you for an hour and it's definitely (not always) better than being alone.

Let's start with the comedy:

1.  Lady texting with one hand, massaging with the other

2.  Phone louder than a nightclub at 3 a.m.  Ring, Ring, LINE message. DING, DING!!!!  

3.  Lady talking to people outside the shop on the street while she "massages" you

4.   Lady rubbing your head for like 10-minutes just to get to that hour

5.  Lady leaves, comes back, leaves, comes back.

6.  Wants to break all your bones, regardless of what you say (in Thai)

7.  Softer than a feather when you actually want some muscle relief

8.  Constantly talks to you while your eyes are closed and you're trying to relax

9.  Other people in the shop talking to you

10.  The owner sitting there, staring at you.

11.  They want you to teach them English .......... now!!  

I do think it's important to get at least a couple massages per month.  Every week?  I like to do that.  Every day?  wow, you got me beat.

You will definitely "bond" with certain people way better than others.  If she's young and attractive.......well, you can figure that out.    Old and ugly, her hands are probably like bricks.   Guy?  a better massage, usually, but maybe you don't want to be touched by a guy.   

I've learned an expensive massage is almost always a waste of money.  The 150 baht is the best, but sometimes you want some privacy to think.  If 1.5 hours, you will usually only get the same as a good 1 hour massage.  If you like the lady, then you're paying for a friend.  nothing wrong with that.