What are the differences between Sativa and Indica strains of cannabis?

Supposedly, and I am no expert with weed, indica strains create more calming effects, such as may be needed to help sleep or relieve pain, etc.  Sativa supposedly increases physical and brain activity helping with creativity while not causing the sleepiness of indica.

• Like 2

Posted (edited)

Sativa cannabis is native to warmer, tropical climates and grows naturally in Thailand, Vietnam, Colombia, Mexico and even parts of Africa.
In order to cope with long, hot and humid summers, Sativa plants adapt and grow taller, have longer branches and produce looser buds and narrower leaves

Indica plants, on the other hand, come from cooler, drier, and more mountainous regions like Nepal, India, and other nearby regions where summers are cooler and shorter. To cope with these conditions, Cannabis indica developed shorter flowering times and denser foliage and buds.
Thanks to their shorter stature and shorter flowering phase, Indica plants are ideal for growing indoors

Source: (on the right corner of the screen change the language)

https://www.royalqueenseeds.gr/blog-poia-einai-i-diafora-metaxy-tis-kannavis-sativa-kai-tis-kannavis-indica-n49

Indica-vs-Sativa-D-EN_1.webp

Edited by Paris333
  • Like 1
  • Thumbs Up 1

5 hours ago, Peabody said:

I believe that these are morphological descriptors. In either group, early harvest = more heady, later/amber trichs = more locky.

This. Along with terpenes will determine high. 

Certain terps are more commonly found in each category saliva  or indica.

The actual saliva indica thing is just for the different type of plant. Fan leaves. Tall vs short. Region of origin.

• Like 1
  • Agree 1

It is better to classify cannabis into 4 groups. Gas. Earth. Flower. Fruit.