How Much Is Enough?

Exxon/Mobil announces their quarterly profits: almost $1500/second, that's $5,400,000/hr. (five million, four hundred thousand USD per hour). I worked in the oil industry all my life, it fed/raised my family, and I defended it countless times. Now that seems impossible. I realize that speculators have a large part in driving this insane situation, but where does it end? My dad used to tell me, "Boy, more is enough." Obviously, my old man never advised big oil. It just seems to me with the state of the world, this is blatant greediness, thievery, neglect, etc. etc. must stop.

Rant over.

Ok, so you are angry at Exxon/Mobil Shell, BP etc. Legitimate beef too. So take it up with the owners that dictate corporate policy. That means smacking the large union pension funds like CALPERS and OMERS, and the public pension funds like the Japan Retirement Pension or Caisse de Depot de Quebec and the mutual funds that invest on behalf of stakeholders throughout the world. They invest in Exxon and hedge funds that inflate oil prices. In other words, if you are upset, look long and hard at yourself. You want high returns on investment and scream if you don't get it. Well, guess what, the investment funds are only doing what the public wants. Along the way the plan administrators are rewarded with big bonuses for squeezing out every last dollar of profit they can just so investors can make big returns.

Ever wonder why ethical investment funds are so small in the market? It's because investors want to have big returns and steer clear of such funds.

If you were runing an underfunded western pension plan, you'd be looking to maximize your returns to pay for the benefits that can't be covered by the plan assets. So if you want to fix the problem, start with the regular folks and their expectations.

The only thing about it all that really pisses me off is the lack of alternatives.