Jump to content

Email From Windows Live Threatening To Close My Account - Is This Genuine ?


Mobi

Recommended Posts

I received the following email from "windows Live Team"

 

Dear Account User

CONFIRM YOUR WINDOWS LIVE ACCOUNT SERVICES. VERIFY YOUR FREE HOTMAIL ACCOUNT NOW !!!

This Email is from Hotmail Customer Care and we are sending it to every Hotmail Email User Accounts Owner for safety. we are having congestions due to the anonymous registration of Hotmail accounts so we are shutting down some Hotmail accounts and your account was among those to be deleted. We are sending this email to you so that you can verify and let us know if you still want to use this account. If you are still interested please confirm your account by filling the space below.Your User name, password, date of birth and your country information would be needed to verify your account.

Due to the congestion in all Hotmail users and removal of all unused Hotmail Accounts, Hotmail would be shutting down all unused Accounts, You will have to confirm your E-mail by filling out your Login Information below after clicking the reply button, or your account will be suspended within 24 hours for security reasons.

* Username: ..............................

* Password: ................................

* Date of Birth: ............................

* Country Or Territory: ................

After following the instructions in the sheet, your account will not be interrupted and will continue as normal. Thanks for your attention to this request. We apologize for any inconveniences.

Warning!!! Account owner that refuses to update his/her account after two weeks of receiving this warning will lose his or her account permanently.

Sincerely,

The Windows Live Hotmail Team

The email has been sent by: [email protected]

I have pasted the text only, as the email contains all the usual Windows Live logos and graphics, and looks reasonably genuine.

Anyone else had this email?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

The English for a start is crap. Thats the first give away. Secondly as long as the account is active it will stay open. When you open the account they ask you all they need to know so if you have an active account then they have all the information they require. :o I have a live account and have not received anything so just bin it. Replying will just tell them your account is active and send you lots of spam. But then I know nothing, maybe a little less! :D

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.




×
×
  • Create New...