Internatianal Money Transfer

I wanted to pay for the purchase of a service, the company only accepted IMTs at this stage.

So I did onshore conversion and paid the transfer fee then transfered the exact amount in the currency requested by the company to their account. My bank assured me there were no other hidden charges.

It fell short by about 10 to 15 dollars, they (the benefactor, the company) said "sorry we cant process until we receive full amount". I have seen a copy of their bank trace and it is indeed short.

I have been told it may be the case that "intermediary banks" are skimming money and there is no disclosure/transparency.

I intend to call the bank Monday and do a bank trace to find out where this money has disappeared to.

I am new to this, does this sound like standard operating procedure for IMTs ? Any advice on how to proceed ?

Edited by mc2

Yes they really do not tell you about the Intermediary Bank. But perhaps in the future your bank will send a SWIFT wire or similar transfer via the "foreign branch" in YOUR country. Example: A California based bank can swift wire to Bangkok Bank in New York State and the money will be in the Bangkok Bank account you request WITHOUT an INTERMEDIARY bank fee which can be GREATER than $15. I had to grind my Bank in California why my SWIFT wire was short and if you look at the web sites of banks SOME make some mention of using intermediary banks. So the only way to NOT pay for this intermediary bank fee is if you SEND the money via a bank that does not need to utilize this type of INTERMEDIARY bank OR if you have your bank send the money to the same Bank in your Country that really is based in Thailand.