Replacing Windows An Staircase.

johna

The wooden frame of an upstairs window (250cm x 170cm) is so badly weathered that it must be replaced, but the builder I normally use says that replacing this window, with a window frame of a different shape and size (200cm x120cm) will result in cracks in the wall.

I have no hands on experience with construction work, but if this is true should I remove the entire wall which measures 5 x 3 meters, and rebuild all of it from scratch.

I would like to do exactly the same with the window directly underneath for the sake of symmetry and better air flow through the house.

I am also looking at taking out the stairwell and replacing this with a spiral staircase in order to get more space.

I have found a couple of companies here that make spiral staircase’s, but they have not replied to my enquires regarding price.

Any ideas as to how much this will cost.

Thanks

I would like to do exactly the same with the window directly underneath for the sake of symmetry and better air flow through the house.

If you want better airflow, why make a window opening smaller? From 250x170 cm to 200x120 cm.

Making the window opening smaller means the space between the smaller window frame and the sides of the opening have to be filled by new brickwork and plaster. And it is this portion that will develop new cracks. Note also, that the contractor will not be able to fill the gaps at the top of this new window frame properly and will instead fill the bottom of the opening by 50cm so that the new window frame is connected to the top of the present opening. So the new window will be half a metre higher from the floor.

The structural support of the present rectangular staircase with a landing in between is different to a spiral staircase.

A spiral staircase has to be supported below the center post of the spiral. All the weight will be concentrated at the base of this point, which your present floor is not designed to receive.

Edited by trogers