Why Am I Constantly Getting Sick?

runner

Whenever I'm here in Thailand, I am always getting sick. Most common ailments are food poisoning and a sore throat/cough, which usually turns into some kind of fever. I'm always going to the pharmacy to get some antibiotics or a trip to the hospital. Anybody know what causes these coughs/fevers? And how to prevent them?

Whenever I'm here in Thailand, I am always getting sick. Most common ailments are food poisoning and a sore throat/cough, which usually turns into some kind of fever. I'm always going to the pharmacy to get some antibiotics or a trip to the hospital. Anybody know what causes these coughs/fevers? And how to prevent them?
Maybe stop the antibiotics and let your body build up a natural resistance to what's ailing you. Try riding it out but ensure you drink plenty of water, with rehydrants added. I'm not a doctor and I'm only saying what worked for me. Edited by coventry

Maybe stop the antibiotics and let your body build up a natural resistance to what's ailing you. Try riding it out but ensure you drink plenty of water, with rehydrants added. I'm not a doctor and I'm only saying what worked for me.

Agree with the advice to drink more water. Regarding the food poisoning, avoid eating at roadside outdoor foodstalls until you build up some resistance. Regarding, the sore throat/cough this could be an allergic reaction to bad air pollution, which hopefully you will buid up some resistance to over time. Drink plenty of water and use an air filter at home, particularly on very hazy days.

Edited by mark5335

The importance of washing your hands frequently can't be overstated, considering a lot of Thais wipe their backsides with their hands and you touch the same railings etc. as you do. First thing I do when I get in from anywhere is wash my hands thoroughly.

be careful what and where you eat, avoid pre-cooked foods. Try to eat fresh fruits and vegetables, which have more vitamins than processed foods.