Offshore Banking

There are many more qualified persons than i, but offshore banking means you dont pay tax on the funds in there. They also usually offer a higer interest rate than regular banks.

Im still a newbie with regards to this and am looking at the options right now so ill be watching this thread carefully.

Someone gave me a link of a group that seemed reputable and their website

http://swiss-bank-accounts.com/e/faq/index.html

is very informative.

On withholding tax also, I do believe with new EU banking laws etc coming in that the Swiss chose to withold some tax rather than give up their secrecy, thus at some point in the future taxes will be withheld (obviously their dragging their feet on this issue however) ive read somewhere that talks of introducing the withholding tax stalled....Swiss bankers fighting tooth and nail here :o

People tend to use the phrase "offshore bank account" as if it were somehow magical, but all the phrase really denotes is the existence of a bank account in a country where you are not resident. If you live in Gurnsey, for example, a Gurnsey bank account is not offshore.

Offshore accounts are not secret. Some jurisdictions will furnish less banking information to government authorities than others, but what they furnish and to whom depends as much on your country of residence as it does on the country where the bank account is held.

The advantages and disadvantages of holding bank accounts in countries where you are not resident turn on a great many things, far too many to discuss here. The laws of the country of your residence, the laws of the country where you hold your account, and what you wish to accomplish by having that account are the major factors but, by no means, the only ones.

I don't mean to lecture here, but you asked a hugely complex question and, without more information on your particular circumstances, there is really no way anyone can give you a specific answer that is of any value.