Building Costs

Hello all. As mentioned in a previous post we are thinking of building a house for the mother in law.

She lives in Ranong in the south and really should at her age be living in a proper house. Actually it will be killing two birds with one stone as we, the wife and our two kids will have somewhere to stay when we visit.

The wifes family, well her brothers have some experience in house building as they have replaced their old wooden houses with brick ones and seem to have done a reasonable job.

What I am hoping for from you is some advice on the cost of putting a house up. We have seen an example of one we like the look of. I'll put the link in the post.

We want to build a three bed bungalow probably with the one bathroom, keeping the costs down. The family will do most of the work but will still expect to have their time covered, mainly as when its finished the house will be my wifes but for her mum to live in for the rest of her life.

I am totally new to this house building process and will have to trust them to do a good job, they are her family and it should be ok, I hope.

I'm not too worried about the luxury finishes, doesnt have to be too western, just a western bathroom, and air con isnt essential at the moment.

We wont be living there for long periods ourselves, we plan to probably locate ourselves in Samui in a few years, once the kids have finished their school/uni.

I look forward to any help you can give me, oh yes and that link http://www.plancivil.com/3Bed2WC_Jua.php

many thanks,

Sean.