Breaking A Teaching Contract.

TyGrr

Hello!

I have just been told by the Govt School I work for that they would like to cancel my 1 year contract with them. This contract started May1st and is to end April 31st 2011.

They have told me they wish it to end in one week on the 30th of Sept. I think that this is illegal but I am not an expert. I would like to type part of the contract that relates to this case.

Clause 5 This agreement is terminated on :

1 Completion of the term of employemtn

2 If I die

3 Either party can cancel the contract for any reason if they give a 3 month warning.

4 If I am too sick to teach, note from Doctor.

5 If there is "serious misbehavior sesrtion of duty without justification"

So I think I should be given 3 months warning and pay if they really want to fire me. However under the heading of Copy Right..

Clause 9 and Clause 10 are related to copyright.

Clause 11 however states "In case of teaching evaluations per semester is unsatisfied to all parts in school, the agreement will be ended with out any reasons."

They are saying they do not need to pay me, and can cancel my visa because of this Clause 11.

They are saying that I did not pass the 80% approval rating from teachers, co-teachers, students and parents.

This is the firs time the school has ever had western teachers and is part of a new Govt program. I am schocked as I have one year contracts for my house, Internet and my sons School.

I have not done anything wrong and would like to know if they are in fact under Thai law are able to fire me with out the 3 months pay and with out me keeping the visa for 3 months while I sort something out.

Clause 12: This agreement is subject to Thai laws and any dispute arising from this agreement shall be submitted for adjudication at the Civil Court Bangkok Metropolis.

I know most of you are not lawyers but please help me out with advice ideas. Thank you so much!