Lesson Plan

Hello Teachers,

On my first venture into the staff room on TV I am here to pick your brains. As a young pretender I beg your indulgences!

What is it boy?

I am to formulate a Getting to know you lesson plan for a group of uniformed government employees of low ability by the end of the week (ASAP). I will have 3 + 3 (6) hours with them in one day.

I have no experience in teaching in a classroom and no teacher training to speak of. I have never written a lesson plan in my life. However, I do flatter myself that I'm OK as a teacher; throughout my bilingual life I have tended to achieve good and lasting results when teaching someone to do or understand things that I can, be it language, computer stuff, music, anything. It just feels good when they get it.

Bit of a sink-or-swim stunt from my uniformed boss, but the rewards for success will be bang tidy! as they say in some vernacular or other. TIT.

I If my skin is saved I shall be much obliged (in beer too if you're in Bangkok)! jap.gif

Fish and / or fishing rods most gratefully received.

Your grovelling supplicant,

Trembly

Edited by Trembly

There are different formats for a lesson plan. First separate your allocated time into allotments in which you plan on teaching a specific topic.

Set up objectives for each lesson. (example: Students will learn to ask/answer: Good morning/afternoon/evening? How are you?

I am fine, thank you. Numbers, days of week, months of the year and grammatical structures can be included.

Next set out the procedure: (Conversation will be practiced together as an entire group, then as pairs etc.)

List any resources you or the students need to have.

Evaluate the success of the lesson.

I don't know if you are asking about writing out a lesson plan or actually how to implement a plan or both. Other posters will hopefully be along to give you further guidance.