Seeking Advice On Offshore Rig Courses

I'm hoping someone can give me some advice on what courses I need to complete to better my chances at getting a job on an offshore rig? I've been doing some research and I figure I'll need the BOSIET but I know I also need to do a medical? I was looking at the OGUK/UKOOA medical but is this valid all over the world except Norwegian sector? I'm Australian without any current working visas or rig experience so I guess working in the North Sea and Gulf of Mexico is not going to happen for a long while, is there another medical I should be looking at doing? I'm an electrician and some places on the net say I should do a compex course? Also a MIST course seems to keep popping up in my research? If anyone can point me in the right direction of what I do and don't need I would really appreciate it. Thanks.

Doing your BOSIET etc will not make more employable per se offshore, seeing as you have no experience I would forget about the North Sea/GOM and focus on getting offshore in Aussie, get a few years under your belt and then venture into the big bad world.

There is a lot of stuff going on in Aussie now and in the coming years.

I would just state you have your BOSIET and if something comes up, just tell the company concerned it has just run out and you will go and redo it.

Its up to you but you may be spending money on courses just for the h*ll of it, and these courses are not really going to help you get a job, these are basic offshore courses everyone needs to do anyway, if you get on it will be based on your "technical knowlege" and experience.

Doing your BOSIET etc will not make more employable per se offshore, seeing as you have no experience I would forget about the North Sea/GOM and focus on getting offshore in Aussie, get a few years under your belt and then venture into the big bad world.

There is a lot of stuff going on in Aussie now and in the coming years.