Advice? Thai Girlfriend, Next Step?

lizlemon

Appreciate any advice from expats in country, I am new here.

My background, I am a 30 some professional from Canada with a professional job etc - met a thai woman online 2 yrs ago on a language site....over time we stayed in regular contact via skype etc and built a decent online relationship. after 7 months i took a trip in 2009 to visit her in Northern Thailand. She is the same age, university educated and has a middle class job with a mobile phone company, she has 1 child and divorced from a thai guy who had several mistresses she learned when pregnant. So when I arrived in her city, she picked me up from the airport with ther best friend whom she calls sister and they took me out to a nice place for dinner and to my hotel.

We spent 5 weeks together in that time she introduced me to her entire family, worked during the day and took me around after work and also took me to a cousins wedding in a nice major hotel and introduced me to more family and friends while taking many pictures etc.

Everyone seems so nice and welcoming, reading the scams and warnings I could not identify any...no request for money, no stories, perhaps this will come later...my guard is perpetually up? The only thing that was weird was the "sister" was older and definately goes with "falangs" for money as she is divorced, no job, and 2 kids.....but thats her business - I met her and her family and it seems to be what needs to be done.

I even set up some traps with comments like "do you need anything"? etc etc.....and no bite from her, even while visiting several more times when out she is quite good with money, refusing to tip more than 20bht when I am pulling out a 50? looking for deals on clothing and making good deals with locals etc.

Everything seems to check out? unless I am missing something.....is this too good to be true? or the norm outside of the obvious bar girl horror stories?