Owning Land Under The Us Amity Treaty

The story goes that I tried to work together with my Thai gf and her family to acquired a piece of land to build a small house on somewhere close to the family in Isaan. The family became way too controlling on where and what I should be buying. Specifically, I have an MBA in real estate and they were suggesting some really stupid approaches. This created some serious tensions which was dissappointing since I've had a good relationship with the family up to this point.

In moving forward, I am a US citizen, 47 years old, with a good paying job in Ekkamai under a non-B Visa/work permit. My Thai gf and I are not married, but we just had a baby not too long ago. I would like to take advantage of this Amity Treaty setup for this goal of building a house. I like my privacy and want to do as I wish to the property as well. My understanding is I actually need to form a majority-owned company, which buys the land (up to a rai) and then I rent this from the company to build the house. Unfortunately, I heard this can take very long to process.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Treaty_of_Amity_and_Economic_Relations_(Thailand%E2%80%93United_States)

If anyone on the forum has done this, what is your experience with it? Also, any reality checks for using the Amity Treaty to just own the land and build a house would be appreciated. IE, do I also have to have some other type of business operation in addition to just the land rental? TIA!

Thanks again for the responses. See below:

@ sophon: True and not true; an American citizen through the Amity Treaty can have majority (up to 100%) shareholding in a Thailand company, a company which can then own up to 1 rai of land. This is what makes it unique.

"The treaty allows for American citizens and businesses incorporated in the U.S, or in Thailand to maintain a majority shareholding or to wholly own its company in Thailand," (Wikipedia)