How To Get A Little Extra Out Of A Suzuki Apv Carry 1.6L Engine ?

Hi

We have a 2005 1.6L AUT Suzuki APV, Standard LPG system

The factory settings give 91 BHP,

the car is a 8 person seater, but it is heavy fully packed, and this means, high RPMs,

How can i pull a little extra horses out, and where ?

I am a familly father, and it is a familly van, im not going to change the head and plane the xxx, change crankshaft install turbo ect.

Im looking for a first step tuning.

i have been on the subject for some time, and it include,

Remove airbox, and replace with open suction filter,

Change exchaust,

ECU Piggybag

What am i missing ?

Some write about removing the Catalytic, other say it will have negative effect, i read about some performance Cats which should improove the backpreasure, and give more power, however i only read the text, i have no experience with this.

Special power plugs ?

Special Oils ?

Smaller wheels, larger wheels ?

I have talked with some Thai shops, but, as i am new on all this, i am a too easy Pray, as i have NO idea if the 10k exhaust is not as good as a 5k, and so on.

PS. i live in Bangsaen

Jack

Jack

post-153746-0-68880300-1336771445_thumb.

Basic mods on a petrol engine yield modest increases in HP You would be looking at 15-20K baht for exhaust / intake mods that might give you 5 HP. There is a fear of a loss of torque across the low / mid range with these changes too. The torque is what you need when hauling many passengers. Open air intakes can be bad, especially in this climate as they tend to draw in more hot air from under the hood. This less dense air produces less HP. I assume you can get piggybacks for it, such as greddy e-manage. They might help a little with basic mods - maybe an extra 5 HP.

Have you ever run the vehicle on petrol, and not on the LPG? Is there any change in performance?