30 Year Land Lease From Farang

When purchasing land on a 30 year lease, should it only be done from a Thai national ??

I don't see how my investment would be safe, if bought from a farang who owns the land via a Thai Ltd co.

Sorry if this is a silly question :)

• Replies 66
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

In my view a lease with a Thai company is better than similar with a Thai national. If the Thai national dies –so does the lease.

Safer with a company I think.

I am no expert –others will confirm or suggest better alternatives

In my view a lease with a Thai company is better than similar with a Thai national. If the Thai national dies –so does the lease.

Under Thai law a legally registered lease is binding upon heirs and successors. They are legally bound to honour the lease to its conclusion. They have no obligation to renew or extend it.
  • Like 2

Under Thai law a legally registered lease is binding upon heirs and successors. They are legally bound to honour the lease to its conclusion. They have no obligation to renew or extend it.

"binding upon heirs and successors" .... is this done automatically or does the Thai "owner" need to have drawn up a Will ??

Automatic if your lease was legally binding in the first place and registered. I say "legally binding," because a lot of people try to draw up their own legal documents and get them wrong. If you care about your future, go to a lawyer for the lease and have the lawyer register it.

• Like 1

You will not get the lease from the farang, you will get it from the Thai company he has shares in.

And...if the Company gets into trouble in any way so could your lease! All be it that, subject to the Company being legal you would have a legal claim against it but, to prove that in a court of law could take years and cost a fortune
  • Like 1

You will not get the lease from the farang, you will get it from the Thai company he has shares in.