Prime Minister Of What Country Just Drove Through The Night Bazaar Area?

DavidMavec

Just leaving the breakfast buffet at Le Meridien about 20 minutes ago there was a huge police presence and many many cars in a procession. They made me stop on my motorbike twice. Both times I asked the police what was going on and they said that the prime minister of a country that starts with a B (sounded like Bagababawan or something) was going through. When they could tell I never heard of the country (I thought I could not understand the Thai pronunciation of the country name) both of them laughed and said they never heard of it, that nobody has ever heard of this country! Hehehe... I'm no geography expert but if I had understood the pronunciation I think I probably would have known it.

Anyone know which country's prime minister was travelling in a procession through the night bazaar area at around 7:30 AM today?

Just curious...

Based only on your effort at repeating the pronunciation you heard, I'm guessing that it was someone from Brunei Darussalam. Brunei is located on an island shared with Malaysia and Indonesia. The capital city is Banda Seri Begawan, one of my favorite capital cities to pronounce, that and Ulaanbaatar, the capital of Mongolia. Fun to say, but never been to either.

What do I win?

• Like 1

They had the street blocked of yesterday at around 10:30 in the morning. I had just arrived on the scene and waited a few minutes then about 4 vehicles looking some what official drove by going the wrong way. As soon as they went by traffic was opened up at La Kroh I think they went down to the D2 and traffic was let up on Changklan at that time.

I wonder if this has something to do with that water convention. They are already shutting schools down supposedly to lesson the traffic so Chiang Mai will look like it has no traffic problems.

Makes one wonder of the convention center is worth it.