แอบ + Verb, Meaning to do or feel something in "secret". Expound upon this!

OldChinaHam

I am not going to write tons about this utterance, this time.

Instead, I am just going to say this expression may reflect some interesting cultural implications.

I would be appreciative for your efforts if all who care to do so would share your thinking regarding the different meanings and usage of this expression, as well as the Thai cultural and sociological reality that makes this phrase a very acceptable feature of interpersonal relationships.

I suppose this one phrase could provide the fodder for a thousand learned comments relating to the phrase, and what it might show us about Thai culture, and human nature.

I am just a very beginner when it comes to the Thai language.

So, please, if I have gotten the spelling or construction wrong, just correct me with as little castigation as you can.

TKS!

(This phrase is bound to come up when anyone studies Thai, and it is good to know what it means.)

I don't understand why you think แอบ is so special?

It's just a word which means secret or secretly.

Such as:

แอบรัก secretly in love

แอบดู secretly look

แอบมอง secretly watch

แอบกิน secretly eat

แอบแฝง conceal

แอบอ้าง false claim

Only in few words such as แอบอ้าง where the meaning would not be "secretly something".

But otherwise it just translates to "secretly+verb", so what's so special about it?

Yes, I agree with Mole...there is nothing special about this construction, nor does it "reveal anything" about Thai society, character, blah blah. Just because a language accomplishes something by a grammatical means which seems "strange" by comparison to your native language doesn't mean anything "deep" or unusual (or revealing) is going on.