Surely you must worry about it...........

Last night whilst lying in bed, I started to think about the future. I am an ESL teacher here in Thailand and have been for 5 years now. I am married and here on a non O extension. Most of us get a crap salary but the cost of living offsets this. However what are we all going to do when we hit 50 and schools don't want us because we are 'too old' or not handsome enough? I don't have any preparations for a pension as I am sure many teaching and living here with their families, will not have done so also.

What will you do to provide for yourself and your family in the future? If your wife dies, you have to leave, as a teachers salary won't allow most to save up 800,000 baht to show every year when you reach retirement age. Are you putting off until tomorrow what you should be addressing today?

Admittedly for now, I am fine but what does the future hold for us married ESL teachers here with a family?

It concerns me greatly and recently I have been worrying about it more and more.

Are you just ignoring the inevitable and putting it off until you have to address it? By then, it may be too late !

Your thought please............ wai.gif

• Like 2

Employment is prohibited with an O-A for purposes of retirement, so even if you had the 800K, it really wouldn't last too long without a job. You have to be ready to move for work, if needed. I am 50, and live in Chiang Mai. There is a new truckload of TEFL wannabees arriving daily. Most want to teach here. So, if you're 50, and experienced, they will often times prefer the young and naive. People, who won't have the nerve to ask for a copy of their contract, or people, who think they will actually get their Summer pay. Work Permit, TL, and non-immigrant B also is a big hassle, so they are going to want people willing to work on visa runs (On Saturdays, of course). OTOH, I think they will appreciate you more in places like KK or UTH, and you might be surprised with higher pay.